Geoff Perry Trophy

The 2nd Annual Geoff Perry Trophy was played last Saturday at the 2nd attempt.  The weather nearly got in the way again but cleared up just in time for a sunny, windy afternoon.

Not the largest turnout with only 3 ladies but competitive nonetheless.  Going into the final set of round robin matches Arthur Buckley looked in prime position to take the 2nd qualifying spot for the final but only won 1 of his last 8 games.  That left Craig Flint and Conan Bellas in a tie for 2nd.  They agreed to have a quick best of 3 games singles match to decide the outcome.  Even then it was a little quicker than expected with Conan pulling a muscle in the 1st game, being forced to retire.

The final proved to be a little one sided with regular doubles pair of Chris Holmes and Denise Ferriman taking the trophy with a 6-0 win over Craig and Angela Blount.

Our club tournaments are always a bit of competitive fun.  The format is always round robin and you don’t need a partner to enter, just turn up and play.